Product Updates chevron_right Database encryption upgrades
Security

Database encryption upgrades

We're implementing even greater security to protect the Personally Identifiable Information (PII) your venue collects.

Whats being upgraded?

ROLLER's site reliability engineers will be progressively upgrading all databases servers this month to implement encryption at rest. Encryption at rest is the process of modifying data into a format that unauthorized users are not able to decrypt and is a key protection against  data breaches.

Extensive functional, performance and load testing has been completed in pre-production environments and as a result our engineers are now ready to deploy these updates to production environments.

Upgrade schedule

Below is the rollout schedule, during which the ROLLER platform (all apps) will be offline whilst the maintenance is executed.

However these dates may change as the rollout progresses. Therefore we recommend users subscribe our Platform Status page at https://status.roller.app/ to be automatically notified when events are scheduled/started/end and when unplanned events occur.

Subscribe to Platform Status updates

 

US/Europe region [excluding dedicated environments]

  • January 11th 2021 - Playground environment upgrade
    01:00 - 03:00 New York (EST)
    06:00 - 08:00 United Kingdom (GMT)

  • January 12th 2021 - Production environment maintenance
    01:00 - 01:30 New York (EST)
    06:00 - 06:30 United Kingdom (GMT)

  • January 14th 2021 - Production environment upgrade
    01:00 - 03:00 New York (EST)
    06:00 - 08:00 United Kingdom (GMT)

APAC & Middle East regions [excluding dedicated environments]

  • February 1st 2021 - Playground environment upgrade
    11:00 - 13:00 Singapore (GMT +8)
    14:00 - 16:00 Australia (AEDT)

  • February 2nd 2021 - Production environment maintenance
    04:00 - 04:30 Singapore (GMT +8)
    07:00 - 07:30 Australia (AEDT)

  • February 3rd  - Production environment upgrade
    04:00 - 06:00 Singapore (GMT +8)
    07:00 - 09:00 Australia (AEDT)

PII data security

Personally identifiable information (PII) is any data that could potentially identify a specific individual. Any information that can be used to distinguish one person from another and can be used for deanonymizing previously anonymous data can be considered PII.

Government agencies and other bodies have strict policies about the collection PII through the web, customer surveys or user research. Regulatory bodies are hammering out new laws to protect consumer data, while users are looking for more anonymous ways to stay digital.

The European Union's (EU) General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is one of a growing number of regulations and privacy laws that affect how organizations conduct business. GDPR, which applies to any organization that collects PII from citizens in the EU, has become a de facto standard worldwide. GDPR holds these organizations fully accountable for protecting PII data, no matter where they might be headquartered.

As organizations continuously collect, store and distribute PII and other sensitive data, employees, administrators and third-party contractors need to understand the repercussions of mishandled data and be held accountable. 

As a member of the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Partner Network (APN), ROLLER  is adopting the AWS Well-Architected framework to maintain secure, high-performing, resilient, and efficient infrastructure for our applications and workloads. Based on five pillars — operational excellence, security, reliability, performance efficiency, and cost optimization.